If you can dream it, you can do it!

29 days to Christmas …yikes…. Best get that ham curing …I have  lots of different recipes on my Pinterest  Boards but I will also give you my tried and tested  home cured ham recipe next week….promise!

But as   promised in last weeks blog….see I don’t forget…  one of my favorite Thai dishes  Nam Dock Nua ( Beef Salad).

This week sees me having my 1st Thai Language lesson. So watch this space…..I’m sure progress will be slow…even very slow…ha ha but at the moment I only speak Nik noy Thai ( very little.)

I have also been ploughing through Word Presses how to..for beginners..thats me! ….. Have managed to add FB, Linked In and Pinterest buttons so that’s a result…. so my aim is to be able to do one thing a week sooooo…..what does that mean for you…my faithfull followers ?…….who knows? certainly not me!…….Could be change of header or pictures absolutely anything!…So watch this space… mistakes will probably be glorious,  but I was blonde before I was this lovely au naturel shade of ” white”  and both the best colour to get your own way..play dumb..although you really are not…….has always worked for me……Ha Ha…hope hubby doesn’t read this!

Any way by now you have probably realised that I am whimsical…this label was applied to me by my lovely friend Jelena……she got the look from me that said ..really!… you are soooooo totally wrong….but actually in the end ” I googled it”…..Definition is :  given to whimsy or fanciful notions;

“Her writing showed whimsical notions of human behavior.” so in a nutshell  I have to admit she
has a point.
Recipe for Thai Beef Salad.
Serves 2.
Ingredients:
300gm Tenderloin Beef.
1 sm red Onion or 2/3 shallots.
2 Spring Onions.
2 medium tomatoes or  8/10 cherry toms.
1 sm. cucumber.
2 sprigs mint.
Big handful of Coriander.
2/3 birds eye  chillies chopped.
1 lime.
2 tblsp Fish Sauce.
Method:
Grill tenderloin medium rare.
While steak is cooking chop salad into small pieces and chop coriander inc stalks.
Mint take leaves off stems.
When steak cooked to your liking slice in thin strips.
Mix gently into chopped salad  add coriander ,mint leaves and chillies.
Stir in fish sauce  and squeeze in lime juice.
Taste as personally I like more fish sauce and chillies but as the taste of chillies can vary then it is
better to add less, taste and adjust seasoning if required.
This can also be made with chicken or pork.
Serve with steamed Rice or sticky Rice.
Now eat and enjoy!
Still on the subject of food,  Hubby and  son are just making a Madras Curry and there is a Bread
Pudding in the oven ……..when we lived in the Uk a  touch of sun and the super
markets were stripped of salad….if I had dared and the thought would not have actually  even
occurred to me  to suggest a Shepherds pie or Liver and Bacon…… the idea would have been
thrown straight out…..Here in Sunny Thailand all the ex pat men I know would die for a
Shepherds Pie, Pork Chops and Mash etc and it never ceases to amaze me because we eat
mainly hot food. My right hand gets literally bitten off if I ask any one for Sunday Roast or Stew
and dumplings…weird or what!
And ask we speak it’s 29 degrees and rising.
mmmmmm can smell that bread pud……. and here it is just hot from the oven.
                      bread pudding
Damm good….delish!
Did you know????
A group of domestic cats is called a: Cluster, Clutter  or Glaring.
Wild Cats: Dowt or Destruction.
Neutered Male cat is a  Gib when it’s not it’s a Tom.
Female Cats  are known as “Molly.”
Today I met with my crafty friends…..aka….Needles and Pins & Artistic Things.
We are a group of laies who hail from the 4 corners of the world but have a common interest in
crafts etc. Today  we made fabric flowers under the expert guidance of Maggie and Pen.
The results were spectacular from some and mine were ok.  If any of you are intersted in how to
make then I will give you instructions in next weeks blog…..just let me know.
007
Thank you again for indulging me.
My next blog I will tell you how to cure your own ham ready for xmas and any other  thoughts
that stream from my fingers .
Until next time  “Au Revoir”
 
2 thoughts on “If you can dream it, you can do it!

  1. Pingback: 26 Week Letter Challenge “N” | Retired? No one told me!

Leave a Reply

