A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.

Hello again. It’s that time methinks, I am loving this blogging and I hope you all are too.

Yesterday afternoon/evening was our Phuket Writers meeting coupled with a Thanksgiving dinner.  It didn’t take long before we all unanimously voted to ditch the meeting and start our merry-making in earnest. Having all bought a pot or two the banqueting began and what a feast transpired.

It was awesome. We  drunk ( too  much),  ate ( too  much ) and made merry ( haha you thought I was going to say too  much.)  You can never have too much fun……The after dinner conversation was lively….Very lively!…lol. thankgiving dinner

‘Twas a very merry band  of revelers who made their way home that night.

With Christmas fast approaching I am sure like me all your thoughts are turning to that Christmas Dinner or the preparation of. Not long now girls….

Loving cranberry’s like I do and never having thought how they are harvested …….

cranberry-387284_1920

Cranberries courtesy of Pixabay

Well, today most cranberries are “wet harvested.” This is done by flooding the bog with water so the berries float to the surface. This is the image most people associate with cranberry bogs. A lot of people think that cranberries grow under water. You learn something new every day…well I do….. I thought they grew on trees!

My frog is back.. .on his own…. though there is also a perfectly round sphere of frogs spawn on the tree branch.

001 004 005      Isn’t nature amazing?

My garden always reveals something new every time I walk around it…the Pomelo fruits are now lovely and ripe…..I love the segments frozen and use instead of ice in my drinks…lovely and refreshing….The red ripe wax apple of which I have an abundance at the moment only resembles an apple on the outside in color.

fruit-2429368_1920

Picture Free from pixabay

It does not taste like an apple, and it has neither the fragrance nor the density of an apple. Called a Red Pear or Chom – poo in Thai. The very middle holds a seed situated in a sort of cotton-candy-like mesh. This mesh is edible but flavorless. But if I can get to them before the ants…which we have in copious amounts then I like them.

Enough of fruit methinks…I have the beautiful smell of roast Pork and Red Cabbage drifting in waves past my nostrils as I type so a visit to the kitchen beckons…best show willing.

Looking positive…it is the washing machine mans second visit within the half hour so fingers crossed he can get it working…………and on a Sunday…now that’s service…..The circuit board has shorted and burnt…hey ho…all good fun…….best go and see what progress has been made….. nada…got to order the part…..although he did try…….

Monday morning and it’s a lovely sunny one…No 2 son is on his visa run so early morning drop off at airport……..I feel a visit to Super Cheap coming on…got to get bits..stamens, glue etc for flowers…..need to make a table centerpiece for Crimbo ..

Next as promised my recipe for curing a ham.

Christmas Ham Recipe.

A piece of Pork…top of leg……mine was 3 kilo.

Suitable plastic( not metal) container to brine meat in.

Ingredients for Rub:

4 tbsps salt (coarse)

2 tbsps  Sugar.

1/2 tbsp Saltpeter.

Ingredients for Brine:

5 litres water

900gm salt (coarse)

2 tbsp Sugar

1/2 tbsp Saltpeter.

Day one:

  1. Mix the dry rub, and rub the ham, making sure it’s well covered. If using a 7-8 kilo ham you will need a double batch.
  2. Place the ham in a large container, cover with a clean tea towel and leave in a cool place, like the fridge.
  3. Now mix the brine in a pot and cook up and cook for 10 min. Remove the pot from the heat. Remove the foam when it stops bubbling and leave to cool and save in a cold place.

Day two:

  1. Pour the cold brine over the ham so it is covered.
  2. Store the ham cold.
  3. Turn the ham from time to time during the curing time. Use clean tongs and plastic gloves.
  4. Let the ham brine for 14-20 days.

IF the brine goes cloudy, make new brine and replace the old brine with that and keep curing it.

Tip: Wear gloves even when dry rubbing.

Ham home cured

When ham cured use favorite recipe to cook and voila a lovely ham.

Please excuse my photos because I am an amateur photographer and have on  my Xmas wish list the request for a better camera so you have genuine home pics taken with my bog standard digital camera with the occasional one that I think really will pass muster…in other words I am getting better folks….

On my recent writer’s retreat, we were given a subject and generally 15 mins to pen something. One afternoon we were given a piece of wrapped Salt Water Taffy and asked to open it together, smell and try it and write about our thoughts.

Salt Water Taffy by Carol Taylor.

Brilliant turquoise in colour, my fingers now sticky on my screen, sweet nothing on my tongue with a sort of fudge like texture.  Would I eat another?

“No”

The disappointment flooded over me when I realized it wasn’t blueberry flavour.

But, instead it invoked pictures in my memory of a hazy blue sea,  sail boats, men in boaters,  ladies in bloomers and those wonderful beach huts which are now so in vogue. Children running along with kites, donkey rides on the clean white sand. Ice Cream and Candy floss

How one tiny rectangle of sweet stickiness could evoke long forgotten memories of an idyllic childhood was truly amazing.

Long Live Salt Water Taffy.

Well, I could go on…but that’s for next time….I now have my bits and bobs to make flowers so will take pics and put instructions on my next blog……… my Thai lesson is tomoz so will give you an update on how that went and any thing else that pops up.

Also just for fun… I am going to see how many ways I can say ” Goodbye ”   and if you can guess what language then out of the goodness of my heart you will get…” nothing”…sorry…just my sense of humour.

 

So until next time Donadagohvi.

All photos are my own unless otherwise stated..

2 thoughts on “A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Ha Ha all I will say is very enterprising..and I didn’t know until I looked it up just thought it was a bit of fun..but bored with that now…lol..thank you for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

