Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass……It’s about learning to dance in the rain!

What a thunder-storm it was…..it’s one of the things I love. What is Thunder? It is the sound that accompanies lightening during a thunderstorm. Does lightening make a sound? Yes, because any sound you hear is made up from vibrations….so as electricity passes through the air it causes air particles to vibrate and heard as sound. Lightening is also very hot so it expands and in this case it expands very quickly pushing apart those particles of air with such a force thus creating more vibrations and the very, very room shaking  thunder we get here….. it just booms out….. Here endeth the lesson………Ha ha …..love it and it’s why it is so lush and green here….hot and steamy…. warm rain…..most of the year I love it..dancing in the rain and soaking up the sun…but it’s nearly Christmas….and I want….. cold, frost, snow even cos without all or any of those it just isn’t the same……or just some Christmas Carol’s……..so up will go the Christmas decorations of which I have copious amounts collected from far and wide over the years…some made by the children or grand children, lots and lots of twinkly fairy lights….but no snow………

Ham is brining…….xmas puds made……mince meat for mince pies made….still no snow…..

So for Xmas day I envy all of you out there who have cold and snow……….and then it’s back to enjoying the sunshine……Oh yeah…Sorry folks it’s just the time of year and I get maudling……….back on track girly lets go……..Thai Food…love it…Squid Salad .) Recipe next week.

10436325_10203693765297510_2270550745967095789_n10347792_10203693766137531_6190379055501568592_n………………Papaya Salad.

Ingredients:

Green Papaya

1 Carrot

Handful cherry Tomatoes or 2/3 med sized tomatoes.

Dried shrimp

1 Lime

4/5 birds eye chillies

Fish Sauce.

Sm amount of palm sugar about half teaspoon.

Method:

Shred green Papaya and Carrot.

Cut tomatoes up roughly in smallish pieces or cherry tomatoes in half.

Put chillies and sugar and little fish sauce in pestle and mortar and pound away.

Add papaya ,carrots, tomatoes and dried shrimps ( a bit at a time) and keep pounding.

Add lime juice and the lime cheeks, peel ..all of it….. a little more pounding,stir and serve.

Tip : Taste,Taste and taste again because it is about balancing those hot,salty,sweet ,sour tastes of Thai Food and your personal taste.

I find that in papaya salad the heat of the chilli is more pronounced so if you only like a little heat start with half a chilli or 1….and taste……lime juice and fish sauce the same… taste……..Thai food is all about balancing of the sweet,sour, spicy,salty flavours so once again taste as it’s very personal and individual…I love fish sauce so I am probably..well nought probable about it… I am….bit free and easy with it…..but thats my taste and maybe not yours ……I am now becoming in danger of over using a word…but TASTE…….

Tip 2: If you cannot get Green Papaya where you live then you can use shredded Cucumber or Swede as a substitute. Both are good and particularly with the swede unless you are a connoisseur of Papaya Salad then it would be hard to call.

I hope you enjoy my little recipes they are not all precisely measured just how we do it here whatever we have goes in the pot or pestle i.e the addition of crab ( in its shell) and yes you do get mucky fingers because again its eating with what you were born with.

Oh and you serve Papaya Salad with Khao Neow (sticky rice), Chicken or fish..fresh veggies of your choice….enjoy …

Next job on my every growing list of to do’s before the 24th ..lots of time…. 17 days to be precise….Decorate the outside patio area ( at the back of the house) where we will be partaking of our Christmas Lunch..because we can..because we have no snow…..one of my friends today did suggest …..artificial snow…really!

But bright side of having zero chance of ever getting snow for Xmas  while I live here ..is  no slush…you know the dirty, slushy…slush..that happens……I feel better already….

Just bought job lot of Tonic Water as we have a shortage and Gin without Tonic is a no-no. So all I have to do now is sort out what the Christmas Cocktail is going to be….. will it be Espresso Martini or Moroccan Mojitos????  mmmmm choices….morrocan mojito 1Morrocan Mojitoexpresso martini…..and if I ever needed one it’s now!…….That lady in the pink dress is around…this domestic goddess who always has a neat  and tidy kitchen…….not today…I decided to make some more Peanut Butter!…..wrong decision…..Burnt 1st lot of peanuts…..Then liquidiser which I will say has travelled with me and I have had for many years gave up…the cheap Thai one I bought I transferred the peanuts and in my haste because by now I was frazzled…didn’t put the lid on…….result a kitchen covered in nuts…….. grrrrrr…end result daughter in law…bless her finished it off in batches in the Pestle and Mortar…. grrrrrrr …as my mantra is that I don’t drink before 5pm…it must be 5pm somewhere in the world..

So on that note Tchau.

NB: The answer to my last goodbye it’s Indonesian.

 

 

 

One thought on “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass……It’s about learning to dance in the rain!

  1. Pingback: Salt Farming in Northern Thailand. | Retired? No one told me!

Leave a Reply

