New Year, New Resolutions mmmmm sort of, Maybe, Hell no!

come on…own up…which category do you fall in?

Ok then I’ll go first…well events sort of overtook me…….here they come the excuses….do you know what…didn’t make any!  That’s that over with then…….

I am an Author and that’s official……Officially a published author http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RU5IYNS   here is the link for you.

So for those of you who aspire to be an author I’ll tell you my story:

All through the years I have loved and have written( mostly never finished) I was the bain of my teachers life as I remember writing pages and pages for my homework or maybe not ever really  told just imagined at a later date that I must have been.

Read books galore.

If I wrote a letter it was probably akin to War & Peace.

Never imagined anyone would want to read what I had written or even tried to find out, just carried on with my life , raising my children, working, all the things we all do. Excelling at some and failing miserably at others.

Along came retirement and the opportunity to settle in Thailand. As you do…. you meet people and join groups etc as an expat. Chatting at one such group and someone mentioned she was in a Writers Group..”Oh Really ,I would just love to be able to write”

That my friends was the beginning of a wonderful experience for me……..I was so inspired by the welcome that I went home and put pen to paper and the rest is history. Well except for the other authors who were amazing and gave me so much help and encouragement and for that I am eternally grateful..thank you …you know who you are. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would get to this point………so  I am busy writing my very first novel as one of my short stories will become that novel, Probably the title will change and I am so excited.Through this group I attended a Writers Retreat and short stories galore are flying forth and this is from someone who never, ever read, bought, considered a short story worthy of reading and I have now written a few …so all I will say is never ever give up on your dreams and keep an open mind and like me it may take years but the feelings and pride in my achievement knew no bounds yesterday…..I was euphoric.

Then along came a spider…A Golden Orb Spider.

SAM_6365…my garden is a  never-ending source of photo opportunity’s from, Spiders, Frogs, Centipedes,Termites ,copious armies of red, black ants, the odd snake and scorpion it goes on.

 

My recipe tried and tested and it’s  awesome………. Cauliflower Rice.

SAM_6054…….Now does that not look like the real deal?

And all you need is  a Cauliflower and an Onion.

A little Coconut oil to cook or other oil of your choice.

Sea Salt and a squeeze Lemon Juice.

Either  grate or blitz in food processor ( but not too fine) you want some texture.

Heat pan and keep pan HOT as you don’t want Cauliflower to steam and go soggy.

Use Tablespoon Coconut Oil and put in desired amount of Cauliflower and onion mix.

Cook quickly and then season and add lemon juice.

All in all it only takes a few minutes to cook….. a bit longer if more than one portion but keep pan hot.

If you wish to vary the taste you can add 1 tsp of Cumin seeds to oil before adding Cauliflower if you are eating Indian Food.

If you require colour if eating Mexican……. then add 1/2 tsp turmeric to oil and tsp tomato puree.

This is very versatile and just use your imagination and add any herbs and spices that u like.

To store…I make a batch and keep in fridge for during the week but keep in glass jar or zip lock bag…I think plastic containers may make it sweat too much…..Enjoy…. and if you are cutting the Carbs it is an ideal and yummy substitute for rice and I love rice…… eat it all the time but happily substitute this as I am also a cauliflower lover.

Lastly I will just say to all you readers who have noticed the Blogging 101 symbol at the side of my blog…I am particpating in this to learn a bit more , have already read some amazing blogs which I maybe would not have discovered so if I publish any little musings beween my blogs it is because it is an excercise we have been given and I hope you enjoy.

So until next time…Good Luck with any New Year Resolutions you have made and if you have  strayed then don’t beat yourself up..just scale them down…….Until next time.

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Resolutions mmmmm sort of, Maybe, Hell no!

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you Ema I am just reading through some of your recipes and think they are great.I am experimenting with coconut flour and Almond flour and notice you are using different flours. Also am looking at alternative ways of brining ham/bacon doing Bacon using celery juice as a binder for the salt and herbs if it turns out ok then will put recipe on my blog..Thank you for looking at my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Ema Jones

        Wow! That’s great. Will be waiting for your recipe. Coconut flour and almond flour are great substitute for all-purpose flour. You can use buckwheat also.

        Like

Leave a Reply

