Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase. – Martin Luther King Jr.

Do you remember taking your 1st step?????

Neither  do I

But I remember my children’s, my grand children….. My tentative steps at writing and the encouragement I received…… My 1st driving lesson… ( brave man) ha ha……the first time and this will make you laugh..my mum is a great home cook..traditional British food….newly married ( me)…Hubby says pick something from the cook book….if we don’t like it then we won’t have it again….fair enough…so I did…..recipe looks simple..1 clove of garlic etc….mmmmm…never used garlic ( this was a few years ago)…mmmm  40 ish….. I now know that the whole garlic is a ” bulb ” and a segment is a  ” clove “…guess what folks..can you see the picture…I still can….and he ate it….That man encouraged me to cook and I now can…Thailand has taught me to be an even better cook.

I now look in my fridge ..see what there is and make something…. as it’s very much a culture here of if you haven’t got it what can you substitute for it……so it has freed my mind where cooking is concerned and I love it!

Miang Kham Recipe.

Miang Kham

Ingredients: Filling

3/4 cup grated coconut (this is often available in the baking section of most supermarkets) if you are not as lucky as me and can buy from our local fresh markets.
2 small limes, unpeeled (try to get limes with thin skin), cut into small cubes
6 tablespoons shallots, peeled and cut into small cubes
6 tablespoons roasted peanuts
6 tablespoons small dried shrimps4-5 fresh Thai chillies, cut into small slivers
4 oz fresh ginger, peeled and cut into small cubes

Ingredients: Sauce

1 tablespoon shrimp paste, roasted until fragrant
2 oz fresh galangal, cut into slivers and roasted until fragrant (see note below)
1/4 cup grated coconut, roasted in a low-heat oven until lightly brown
4 oz small dried shrimps.
2 oz shallots, peeled and coarsely cut
1.5 teaspoons fresh ginger, sliced
8 oz palm sugar (broken into small chunks)
2 tablespoons table sugar
salt for seasoning

Method: Sauce

In a pestle and mortar, pound together the shallots and galangal until fine (note about galangal: it’s ok to use dried galangal as long as it’s placed in a dish of lukewarm water for a few minutes to reconstitute). Add roasted shrimp paste, ginger, coconut and dried shrimp, and continue pounding until smooth. Remove the mixture and place in a pot with 1.5 cups water. Bring to a boil over medium heat, add palm sugar and table sugar, then reduce heat and simmer, wait until reduced to 1 cup or a bit less. Taste, and adjust by adding a bit of salt. Remove from heat and transfer to a small bowl.

Wrapping Leaves

Your choice of what leaves to use is up to you. Some use lettuce or spinach leaves due to ready availability, but to get an authentic flavor you should use the fresh Betel Leaves, or Piper Sermentosum. In Vietnamese language, these leaves are labeled as La Lop.

Serving

Roast the coconut in a low-heat oven until lightly brown. Spoon the roasted coconut into a serving plate. In separate small bowls, arrange each filling ingredient listed above. With a fresh wrapping leaf in hand, fold it once across the bottom then sideways to form a pocket. Place about 1 teaspoon roasted coconut in the leaf together with a small amount of each filling to create a bite-sized quantity. Spoon the sauce on top, pop in your mouth and enjoy!

Although this can be a little time consuming to prepare it is well worth it.

Next blog I will make it easier and give you a rrecipe for a lovely Massam Curry which we are having for our evening meal tonight…..just thought i’d tickle your taste buds…ha ha..I do have that wicked streak don’t i?

Marbles!!!!!!!!!!

I just thought of something funny…but until next time…….and remember have faith and take that first step …that leap of faith….love you all xx

Leave a Reply

