Accept what is, let go of what was, and have faith in what will be – David Avocado Wolfe.

And how many of us wish we could do that and just don’t? or try to but it’s too hard, or don’t know how??????

During my life I have done a mixture of all of those, some I am glad I did or did not, some I wish I hadn’t and some I didn’t even try.

But “That’s life ”  as the song made famous  by Frank Sinatra goes.

And what a life.. would I change anything??? well somethings but all of that is with hindsight which is a wonderful thing!  Ha ha.

When I think back my dad was a strict disciplinarian but well  was that a bad thing? no… really my mum countered that by just being our mum. She made all of our clothes and taught us to knit and sew and cook.

And she loved us! Note the shiny shoes!001

I remember walking for miles over fields to see my nan ( she lived on a farm) I loved it there and this was at 9/10 years old, we had no phones so at some point my mum would get a call from a phone box to say I was ok but didn’t know when I was coming home. But it was safe to do that then, I could walk for miles and  see no one or maybe just one person who invariably knew who I was, knew where I was going and or gave me a drink of water.

How I loved it there, I got to wander around the farm ( with the strictest instructions ) from my granddad of where I could wander and where I could not. I learnt to milk a cow and had great fun in the hay lofts and at harvest time. My Nan  showed me how to cook on an Aga. So between my nan and my mum I think that’s where I got my love of cooking.

My other nan lived but  5 mins away and had a lovely piano….so most days after school I would wander up the road to see her and get to play the piano…I loved that piano and one day maybe I’ll get to tinkle those ivories again. But I have special memories of both my Nan’s.

I was a choir girl.. yes folks and I won’t treat you to a rendering on the karaoke.

I hated frills and bows and dolls!

Dolls I hated them and fringes….everytime we had our hair washed owwww did it hurt when mum got the tangles out..well.. she obviously had enough so took us all for a haircut with a fringe….not for long…madam here.. me…hands up…got a pair of scissors and cut if off. That solved that mmmmmm….that got me an early to bed with no tea…well mum snuck up a sandwich a bit later……

My sisters would walk neighbours  babies up and down ,up and down the street…awwww my worst nightmare,  my favorite was climbing the big oak tree on the village green, except when I climbed it in the NEW pink spotted dress my mum had made me , mmmmm  she didn’t get cross often, but I think she made an exception then..ooooooppps.

I remember the day I got a bloody nose.. well I did aggravate this boy ..but no need for that.. did my dad jump to his daughters defence…..don’t be silly…he asked what I did to deserve it..mmmm.

AND not a calculator , phone or computer in sight……infact I didn’t know anyone who had one!

Camping..I loved camping in the garden…a blanket over the clothes line…which had been lowered made a great tent and we giggled all night long….

Reading under the bed-clothes with a torch.

I remember when the circus came to town how we all loved the clowns on stilts and all our dad’s making us  ” stilts ” …..did we have fun and spills on them that summer holiday…ohhhhh and the snow when it come sledges made from doors and trays…I remember being red raw and freezing and then the pain when we thawed out in front of the roaring fire but the crumpets toasted on the fire and chestnuts in the embers. Memories.

So that peeps is a deprived childhood with no computers and games well except for snakes and ladders, ludo, hangman and noughts and crosses.  Oh and Jacks and I bet I could still beat you at that! Hopscotch ! downside was we had to clean the chalk marks off the pavement…

 

Well that’s my childhood but I look back and don’t think it was a bad one I think I learned a lot…..How to love, laugh, cook,,earn respect

The computers came later, very much later so a whizz kid on them I am not but also I am not that bad so all in all ” That’s Life ”

Hoping you enjoyed my ramblings through what was my childhood.

 

Love you all xx

Leave a Reply

