Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself—–Rumi

A very wise man and yes he is correct no one single person is ever going to change the world we all have to change ourselves and then collectively maybe, just maybe we can change a small portion of our beautiful world. I am on a roll with my foodie experiments I am now an owner of a home-made dryer, trying to sun dry Tomatoes which we love and are very expensive here and not overly great I will say. We are now on our second day and they are shrivelling up quite nicely. Pics of finished product to follow next time.SAM_6908 SAM_6910We used window mesh ( the one that keeps out the nasties) and it cost 40B, the wood was some we had in the shed and voila a nice covered little box. A bit of Himalayan Salt and some fresh Rosemary and away we go, so fingers crossed and my next pic will be lovely sun-dried Tomatoes in Olive oil.mmmmm Yesterday evenings dinner was a family favorite a mixed Paella of Chicken ,Chorizo (which was my bargain of the week) from ” Mr Makro ” at 140B for the whole catering size chorizo it sure was a bargain and lovely fresh seafood straight from the boats.11401368_10206965591555229_3135747829165617620_n To make I used 2 cups of Aribo Rice, 1 Litre of chicken stock with a few strands of  saffron added. 2 Chicken Breasts cubed. Piece of Chorizo about 150 gm sliced and quartered. I onion. 3 cloves garlic. 1 chilli. I red Pepper. Half Kilo of Prawns. 1 kilo of Mussels. 5 baby squid. Half Lemon. Method: Cook Chorizo in tbsp Olive Oil until lightly browned add chopped onion and cook for 2 mins.Put in dish and leave on one side. Lightly Brown Chicken in remaining oil and put on one side. Cook cubed red pepper,chilli,garlic until softened. and put in dish on one side. Add rice to pan and stir to cover with remaining oil( can add peas at this point) and add stock cook on rolling simmer 5-10mins or until rice has nearly absorbed all liquid. Add chicken and either continue to cook on hob or put in oven on 180 degrees. Check and top up with water or stock if required if rice is too dry for 20 mins. Add Chorizo and Pepper mix cook for further 10 mins checking and stirring or topping up stock if required. Add Prawns and cook for further 10 mins. Add Mussels and cook another 8-10 mins until open. Add squid for last 3 mins of cooking. Squeeze over lemon and garnish with lemon slices or  quarters and if you have parsley in the fridge add some chopped as a garnish. If rice still has not absorbed all the stock I cook of on top of stove until absorbed. Then serve…….. this is very much a recipe where the amount of stock depends on rice absorbtion and also what meat or fish you have . If I have some to use or in the freezer then I might add or use chicken thighs instead of breast. The mussels we got yesterday were quite big so we steamed before adding to Paella or if I have just shelled Mussels I stir through. So really anything goes just you your imagination, as you make more you will learn how to adjust to your own taste and once initial prep is done it is quite easy to make…enjoy experimenting. It can also be cooked on a BBQ and then you get that lovely crust the Spanish call socarrat, on the bottom of the pan…lovely. Today I read the funniest blog ever on us ” writers” and I just had to share  it was Kristen Lamb’s latest offering and so funny even if you are not a writer you may , no I rephrase that you will relate to a writer ( if you know one) and if you don’t you will still find it hilarious. It’s a brilliant piece of writing. Well folks I have a G & T in one hand and dEbating in my head what to eat mmmmmm will it be Salami with black pepper or chocolate mmmmm best have another and debate that one. On that note i’ll say goodbye or avoir and chat soon, love you all have a lovely evening cos it’s now 17.21 in my world..sundowner time love you all xx

6 thoughts on “Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself—–Rumi

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Well enjoy whatever you are having we just making spring rolls and chicken goujons as off to a girls night so probably won’t be doing much of anything tomoz..ha ha..have a nice evening 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. belindacrane

        Raise at least two please … if I was there I would certainly not be having one drink .. in fact, I don’t actually know what having one drink feels like! 🙂 lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. blondieaka Post author

        Ha Ha a lady after my own heart well just got home from last night and its 11.17 sat morning..ooopps but the best time, it was those voddy jellies! lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

