“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” by Oscar Wilde.

Yesterday was our monthly Phuket Writers meeting it was also the 1st anniversary of the coup in Thailand and;

The Dragon Boat Festival, also often known as the Tuen Ng or Duanwu Festival, this is a traditional and statutory holiday originating in China.

The festival now occurs on the 5th day of the 5th month of the traditional lunar calendar, the source of its alternative name, the Double Fifth Festival. The Chinese calendar is lunisolar, so the date varies from year to year on the Gregorian Calendar.  The focus of most celebrations involves eating ZongziZongzi (sticky rice treats  with chopped dates wrapped in bamboo leaves) and Dim Sum both made by one of our newest members Lian who is from China and married to the illustrious Paul who is one of us writers. Both dishes were amazing and Lian explained to us the background to the festival which was lovely and is one of the lovely parts of living here among such a diverse community because we get to share and learn and partake in some culinary gems so  to celebrate we also had a pot luck, the rest of the dishes were from around the world and pretty damn good! So a good time and feast was had by us all.

The “Suure Mocke” is marinating well, so I will post a pic after Tuesday when it will be cooked.( And of course) eaten!

My very first attempt at caramel for the Creme Caramel turned out ok…..my grandson was on the stop clock as this requires NO stirring just a little swirl of the pan every 30 seconds for 5 mins. It worked folks! Didn’t burn it, just a lovely golden colour..yehhh we are a good team .

I would like also to wish all the daddies out there a great ” Fathers Day ” and to everyone like me who Dad’s are no longer with us a little verse.

Dad… I won’t immortalize you in the stars, because they fade away. I won’t remember you with a poem, for it will be forgotten one day. I will just keep you safe in my heart, so that you are with me in every way. I miss you.

I miss my dad, he was a strict and unaffectionate dad when we were growing up but as he got older and I got older we rediscovered each other and I loved my dad and miss him.

So all of you who maybe don’t see eye to eye with your dad’s just remember we only get one dad and life is too short so maybe say sorry..someone has to…and start again you may be surprised like I was.

That’s it for today..I am still full to the brim from Sunday Lunch…also had a few vino’s so am going to retire with my book….

Until next time love you all xxx

 

3 thoughts on ““Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” by Oscar Wilde.

  1. Janice Wald

    Hi.
    I know D. Parker, Sally, and Belinda. Thank you so much for following my blog. I would have thanked you sooner, but I have been out of the country on vacation. I loved your Oscar Wilde quote. I saw his play “The Importance of Being Earnest” and I think read it as well. Does aka stand for also known as? Thanks again. I will look forward to getting to know you better. I will post again when I’m home.
    Janice, Reflections

    Like

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Hi
      Yes I loved that Oscar Wilde quote I always have a new quote each time I post and I find it’s a staring point for me. In other words I generally haven’t a clue what I am going to blog about until I start writing and then it just happens. Yes you are correct about the meaning of aka. Enjoy the rest of your vacation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

