Remind yourself that it’s ok not to be perfect.

Oh well I don’t need reminding never have, never will ,actually don’t want to be perfect. Anyone who thinks they are doesn’t belong in my world or anyones really, should they? If you are so perfect it’s the same really as being at the top only one way to go and that’s DOWN.

So me I’d rather be a little less than and then I can go up or if you are really rock bottom then it’s a given you really can only go onwards and upwards….so where would you rather sit?

This week has been a bad week really and for some just awful in fact words cannot express just how awful…I do not want to dwell on this not because I don’t feel sorrow, pain and all those others feelings and I do.

But because I will not feed the monsters.SAM_5501

Sitting at my desk the other day (The above is the view from my desk) my grand son came in ” Nannie , Nannie did you know that in America they have one day, well 12 hours when they can do anything..they can steal, kill anything they want and they will not get into trouble.”

“That’s not true, Aston”

“Yes it is I read it”

” No, that would never happen”

He was insistent! So I asked my friend ” Mr Google” and it’s a film set in 2022.

This turned into an ideal opportunity for me to explain because he was so insistent that he had read it. Showing him..in black and white that it was and also explaining that it was very unlikely to become fact.

Explaing to him that if a friend came up to him and told him this and persuaded him it was true and then you persuaded another friend and  this is how people are brain washed into believing an untruth and also doing something they never would .

He had read it but not read it properly or had read a piece of script from the film and believed it to be true. We had a very good chat on how someone who was clever, articulate could influence a young person into doing something that would normally be against his principles and that he would know  was wrong by manipulation..it made it easy for me as I saw the opportunity as he was so very insistent that he was correct, to initiate this chat and it was very timely given what is in  the news lately, about young impressionable people who are being indoctrinated by very clever people into believing whatever they want them to and that is scary.

I know that a lot of young people don’t talk to their elders as it’s not cool, but I try really hard to pick up on little pointers both good and bad to help illustrate my point and what I think is the right way and hopefully he will talk about things to his old nan for some time to come as it must be every parents and grand parents biggest nightmare that their children will be influenced by something or someone who is less than desirable. Scary world isn’t it especially given the freedom of information over the internet now.

Yes you can use parental controls but I believe it’s better to let them see within limits and guidelines just what is going on in that big scary world out there. Because we won’t always be there to guide and nurture so we need to take responsibility so that they know right from wrong and not be a sheep.

I always used to say to my kids ” don’t ever come and tell me that you did something because someone told you too. Do it because  you want to and have the courage of your convictions.”

And it’s true. Anyway I have preached enough , the good part of my week has been I have pickled more onions, made Mango Chutney and at this moment in time have pastry chilling because I am making Quiche and dinner tonight is  Jacket Potatoes, Quiche and salad..well I am having just the Quiche and salad without the jacket.

A change for me as I always eat Thai Food but haven’t had Quiche for eons so am going to enjoy!

With a nice chilled white it will be lovely.

No recipes this week because I just haven’t but there will be in my next blog.

Love you all and if any of you had or lost loved ones in any atrocities this week then may God give you peace and I am so sorry for your losses.

Until next time love you all xxx.

10 thoughts on “Remind yourself that it’s ok not to be perfect.

  1. olganm

    Thanks for commenting on one of my posts. Great to come across your blog. The internet can be a great source of information and even a greater source of misinformation. And young children grow up with the idea of everything can be found on line, and perhaps it’s true.
    Pickled onions… Love them and mango chutney too… I hope this week is good.

    Like

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Yes I hope so too, lots of storms at the moment which play havoc with the electric and yes the internet is a great source but can also be dangerous as we know yes the onions disapear like no body’s business here I have a few friends who pop round looking for ” samples” mainly men from when we had the bar/restaurant bless them they are my guinea pigs :)Have a great week 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. blondieaka Post author

    Thank you so much Belinda you are an angel with a wicked sense of humour and I think It’s ok could you please check and let me know ? cheers my dear 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. belindacrane

    Carol … firstly if you ever need anyone to desk sit for you, please let me know! Love it! Amazing observation you have made through the eyes of your grand son. A very scary, very real observation. It’s almost todays form of propaganda when you really think about it. Freedom of Speech is a great thing but there are no longer boundaries through the creative or the opinion platforms. It is now up to parents, grandparents etc to ensure their little loved ones understand what they are questioning. It’s a massive task to try and accomplish given what is put out there on the tangled little web called the internet! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you Belinda it was scary as he was so adamant that it was true because he had read it! So I googled and let him read, showed him the film blurb and said after you read that if one of your friends had read the same and said to you lets do something , would you? and he actually I might ..he is only 10 and it just shows how easy it is to corrupt minds…and yes you desk sit anytime I picked the best room for my office..love it….Would like your opinion on my Fathers Nightmare if you think worthy I didn’t get any and It’s either because it’s so shite or I should have published it on it’s own..think I may do that? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. belindacrane

        Love it and have commented! We need to change your Gravatar web address … That is the only reason you haven’t had more people reading it my friend! 🙂

        Like

      2. blondieaka Post author

        Ah I thought I had but maybe not I will have another look and fiddle thank you It would help if I had a clue but am learning..oh yes I keep telling myself that thank you sooo much 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

