It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.

That is true and I think to see through a childs eyes ..well….they see the wonders of the world in all innocence and with awe… don’t they? One of the comments this week on my blog was that the prelude to my novel was really scary and would give nightmares so I have decided to show my versatility on a Thursday each week.

Just little stories which have come about from a memory or a word or a picture conjured when visiting a place. All different, I hope you enjoy and comments are invited ❤

My Dad.

dadThis is a tale based on one of the many memories I have of my dad who I loved very much and miss every day, I hope you enjoy it ❤

 

Sinking into the sofa with a well deserved glass of wine. I gave a long sigh, home at last.

Raising the glass to my lips, the bloody phone rang. Letting it ring I realized they definitely were not going to hang up.

“Hello who is it? “

“Mummy”

Hi Mummy, how are you?”

“I’m fine”

Whooooo that definitely wasn’t her I’m fine voice.“What’s dad done now?”

“You would never guess. That stupid man went into the garden still in his slippers. The grass was all white and frosty. How he didn’t fall I just don’t know. Saw the squirrels raiding his bird seed holders. Again! Then threw his walking stick at them, of course it missed and went flying over the wall”

“Oh dear mummy he didn’t fall over did he? “

“Fall! That stupid man went down the bottom of the garden to get his ladder from the barn.Took it down the path to the wall and dropped it over the other side of the wall”

“Oh No, I gasped, that’s at least a 6ft drop between those two walls and such a narrow gap between the wall and the next building, only about 2 feet. What’s happened?”

“Oh well that man has mush for brains. He only climbed over the wall, down the other side, picked up his stick and climbed back up .I came out of the back door just as he cocked his leg back over the wall. Men!”

“Oh No, I was horrified at the thought it conjured up in my mind.

“And then, just to top it all he slipped on the frosty grass”

“He didn’t hurt himself, did he?”

“Hurt Himself! Hurt Himself! “He just sat there laughing.  Did he not realize that if he had got stuck I couldn’t have lifted him out? Michael and Suzy next door are on holiday. I would have had to call the Fire Brigade.”

Laughing I pictured my dad. My mother however did not find it at all funny.

Carol!

“Stop laughing. He really could have hurt himself.  No one would think he was 76 he acts like a 5-year-old at times”

I stifled my laughter.

9 thoughts on “It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.

  1. merrildsmith

    Your dad sounds like he was so much fun. I can understand your mother being upset–she was probably worried. But the image of your dad sitting in the frosty grass and laughing–it makes me laugh, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Yes he could be, mum yes she could see the other side.But I can still picture him sitting in the frosty grass too, it’s lovely to have memories that make you smile isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you much appreciated I had only been writing for about 3 months when I wrote that, it was my first writers retreat having joined the group about 6 weeks before that. Was last November and I also realised a lot of writers draw on experiences I suppose I had never thought about it before so I really am a baby at writing..lol and yes she was so angry with him..bless her but at the same time I could really picture what had happened. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

