Christmas Recipes Part 2.

The grinch

 

Hello everyone and how did your pudding making go have you done it yet?

Today I have some more favorites, Mince Pies now what Christmas be without them, Prawn Cocktail which I have made every year since for ever it’s like a tradition now so whatever new starter I come up with I still have to make that… and a wonderful home-made drink and those who know me well were wondering when I would slip that one in..ha ha…can’t think why…..Who likes Bailey’s? Well this is the closest you will get to it  and if you sip Bailey’s and then this….. hardly any difference whatsoever…..Lets get with it then……

Mince Pie Pastry.

I use half fat to flour so for example 8oz Flour and 4oz fat.

Ice cold water added tbsp at a time( amount depends on flour used)

1 egg beaten for glaze.

I know that fat varies depending on where you live, in the Uk ..well spoilt for choice because we invented pastry…well from as far back as the Romans when it was crude flour and water wrapped around meat and game before cooking and no way would you eat it…it was to retain meat juices.

Over time pastry was enriched with fat and milk and began to vaguely resemble todays shortcrust.But living here in Thailand my choice is restricted…..I have a choice of pastry fat or crispo…sometimes I mix the two when making meat pies but I digress.

For mince pies I use the pastry fat. When making pastry it must be kept cool which here is never easy ..so fat from fridge, iced water from fridge and fan madly whirring to keep the air cool..and me folks…I touch the pastry mix as little as possible , I quickly rub fat in flour to resemble breadcrumbs, add iced water gradually, draw together with your fingers to make a ball, if too dry add more water, wrap in cling film and chill for at least 20 mins in fridge.

When I roll I use heel of my hand to start to flatten pastry and roll gently out to desired thickness…I handle as little as possible to keep cool.

SAM_4080 Using a pastry cutter ,cut circles and line patty tins, add filling and top with pastry lid. Brush tops with beaten egg. Cook in oven on 200c/gas7 for 15-20 mins until golden. Remove from oven , cool slightly and dust with icing sugar.

Note: Some of you may have noticed I don’t add sugar to my short crust pastry…With the sweetness of the filling and the icing dusting  I /we all feel it is sugar overload but personal preference if you like add 1 tbsp sugar to breadcrumbs before adding water.

Irish Cream:

Ingredients:

10 oz Irish Whiskey

1/2 pt whipping cream

1 can condensed milk.

2 eggs.

11/2 tbsp Chocolate syrup.

1/2 tbsp each of, Vanilla Extract, Coconut Extract and Chocolate Extract.Home made Baileys

Blend all ingredients together and refrigerate.

Serve cold and or over Ice.

Now isn’t that easy? and …you can get  about 4 batches from one bottle of  Irish Whiskey so by my reckoning that’s a real saving and lots of Baileys…yay……

Prawn Cocktail:

Ingredients: Serves 4.

500gm of prawns, peel and devein (saving a few to decorate glass)

Iceberg lettuce, 1 tomato, piece cucumber, slices of lemon/Lime.

To Make Sauce:

8tbsp good mayonaise or make your own.

1tbsp Tomato ketchup.

2tsp horseradish sauce.

2tsp lemon juice.

Black pepper for taste.

Paprika.

Method:

Mix all ingredients except black pepper together, season with black pepper.Chill in fridge.

To serve: prawn cocktail 1

Shred iceberg lettuce or lettuce of your choice,thinly slice tomatoes and quarter, and finely dice cucumber.

Put iceberg lettuce in bottom of glass or serving dish,add diced cucumber and 3 pieces of tomato. Top with cocktail sauce , sprinkle with Paprika and garnish with prawn and twist of lemon. Enjoy.

Well that’s it for now I am off to do some ham, it’s finished brining and now to cook…so love home cooked ham…..

 

Until next keep smiling, be happy and stay safe..don’t crushed in the Christmas rush….

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Christmas Recipes Part 2.

  1. Fiona

    Mince pies are a Christmas standard, and I’ll be making them in a couple of weeks’ time, along with shortbread. Have never made Christmas cake and I doubt I ever will – my sister-in-law does that – plus it’s not a favourite of mine…. As for the prawn cocktail, now thought of as a bit retro, there’s a good idea for a starter…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Haven’t made cake for years..think about it but no one really eats it….now xmas pudding that is a must…But prawn cocktail I think it’s having a bit of a revival and when they are good they are very good..I just love xmas 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Fiona

        Not fond of Christmas pud, either, I’m afraid, although I do make a mean Brandy butter!! I also love Christmas – I enjoy the cooking and the tables, and, and…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. blondieaka Post author

        Not fond of Brandy butter or brandy sauce I just like cream with mine…we all our our favorites don’t we? I just love the decorating and doing the tables.. my favorite part is midnight mass love it!.and before you know it all that hard work and it’s over 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. roughseasinthemed

    Your cooking so reminds me of my mum’s. I’ve also forgotten to look up the steamed fruit pudding recipe, must put it on my things to do list. Anyway, your mince pies and prawn cocktails look just like hers did. For the dressing we made it slightly differently, using tomato purée rather than ketchup, and Worcester sauce not horseradish (which I imagine makes it nice and sharp), we also added a spoonful or so of double cream for consistency and richness. We had quite a lot of lemon juice. No idea of quantities, as the final version depended on The Taster (me), so it often involved more purée, more W sauce and more lemon juice to get it just right. Was delicious though. Don’t know why it used to get mocked. A good prawn cocktail is excellent.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you ..my mum taught me so it probably is and yes I have made it for so long now had to think of the quantities as I just throw it together now..haven’t tried worcester sauce probably cos I love horseradish so much and lots of lemon….I can make any starter I want at xmas as long as I make prawn cocktail it’s like a tradition now…..But love mince pies and still make them here..I probably miss home more at xmas as no one does it like home sun and mince pies …not quite the same..thank you for your visit :).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. roughseasinthemed

        I used to hate horseradish as a kid which would explain why it never ended up in our prawn cocktails! I dare say I’d like it now. I’m terrible with quantities these days. It used to drive me spare when things weren’t measured out, and one day, the penny dropped and I realised I knew how much to use without measuring. So my recipes tend to be ingredients these days unless it’s based on an actual recipe book one.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. blondieaka Post author

        Me too..and the other week..when I guessed and put it on the scales and it was spot on, my young grandson was so impressed and said wow I have such a cool nan..bless him 🙂 how to impress the younger generation..ha ha

        Liked by 1 person

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Hi Frances
      It tastes so much like Bailey’s it’s unreal have tried them side by side and really hard to tell..my daughter in laws love it..thank you for your visit have a nice day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

