Tonight my heart and thoughts are in Syria

This is a wonderfully written insight showing the real Syria and it’s people and I hope by reading this you will have a better understanding of the devastation it’s people feel at the events which are still unfolding. I wish you all peace and harmony for the year ahead 🙂

Where to next?

indoor campfire Damascus Syria Christmas around a campfire in a tent in Damascus, 2009

Christmas always makes me think of Syria, and this year the thoughts are stronger than ever.

Today my heart is breaking for Syria and her citizens, but it wasn’t always that way.

I first visited Damascus in 1977, and then moved there in 1980 after Poor John and I married in Jordan (must tell that story one day). Our first daughter, Libby (who lives in Paris now), was born in Damascus in 1981 and had her first Christmas in that once beautiful city.

That year I bought an artificial Christmas tree and a variety of simple decorations at the small shop that was around the corner from our flat. I still have all the decorations but, a few years ago, I gave the tree to my dear friend, Maggie.

We were back in Syria for Christmas in 2009. That was…

View original post 459 more words

2 thoughts on “Tonight my heart and thoughts are in Syria

Leave a Reply

