I am back on the blogging train!

Now fully recovered my first task is my contribution to Colleen @ Silver Threading  for Mindful Mondays here my very favorite Thai dish ..a Larb Moo

This is also my first attempt at a pingback so with mega thanx to Hugh here   Hugs Hugh.

Now for my recipe….I find sticking to Thai Food does wonders for losing a few pounds as Thai food is low on carbs,lots of fresh vegetables and herbs most cook very quickly so everything retains its colour and flavour, in fact preparation most times takes longer than the actual cooking.

This recipe can be made using chicken or Pork. I have used Pork Mince  for this.

Larb Moo .

SAM_7587

Ingredients: Serves 1-2 people.

200gm Pork or chicken mince.

3 shallots finely sliced.

2 spring onions finely sliced green tops as well.

Handful of fresh Mint pick leaves from stem I just tear in large pieces( mine is a big handfull) love mint.

Handful of fresh coriander chopped.

A few Thai Basil leaves for top .

I Lime.Use half to whole lime juice depending on personal taste.

Dried chillies..dry roasted in pan and grind in pestle and mortar.

1 large tbsp toasted rice.

1-2tbsp Fish Sauce.

Small amount palm sugar….I use it sparingly.

Method:

Using small saucepan dry cook mince, I add a small amount of water to stop sticking.

Stir until cooked, remove pan from heat.

Stir in toasted rice, sm amount palm sugar, chilli( as desired) start with 1 tsp and once all ingredients added ..taste and add more if required.

Stir in mint and coriander,shallots and spring onions, stir well but carefully.

Add fish sauce and half of the lime juice.

Taste! if required add more chilli,fish sauce and or lime juice. Put in serving dish.

Garnish with Thai Basil leaves.

Serve with steamed boiled rice or  Thai sticky rice.

If really cutting carbs then serve with sliced cucumber, sliced white cabbage, green beans and Thai basil leaves.

Thai’s eat a lot of raw vegetables with Larb which is why it’s a fairly healthy meal and if chicken is used even fewer calories.

NB: To make dried rice mix, take thick bottomed pan put on medium to low heat, cover bottom with uncooked sticky rice( if you don’t have) normal rice will do . Stir until rice turns a golden brown colour, tip into pestle and pound until powdery but slightly coarse.

Can store in small container and will keep for 6-8 weeks…mine doesn’t as I make Larb at least twice weekly.

 

Enjoy ! More next Monday.

 

Love you all 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “I am back on the blogging train!

  1. Pingback: Mindful Monday – Healthy Living: HELP! My Diet Stopped Working! | Silver Threading

  2. Hugh's Views and News

    Hi, Carol, great to see you back and I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better.

    That looks a delicious meal, so thank you for sharing it with us all. I’m a huge lover of rice dishes so will certainly try it out.

    You’re half way there with the Pingback. I didn’t get a notification that you had created it. I’ve had a look at it and it’s because you’ve linked to the home page of my blog rather than my ‘about me’ page or to one of my posts. Unfortunately, pingbacks don’t work properly when they are linked to a home page of a blog, so whoever you link to won’t get notified that you have linked to their blog. Also, when I clicked on the link in your post, my blog opened up in the same window so I ended up losing your blog/page altogether. My advice is to tick the box that says “open up in a window” when creating a pingback. That way the reader won’t lose your blog from their screen.

    Keep practising. I know you’ll soon get the hang of it. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. Silver Threading

    Carol! I am so glad to see you back. I love this recipe. It sounds so darn good! Palm sugar… I will have to look for that one. How do you toast the rice? Is it like fried rice? I can’t wait until summer when I can grow Thai basil, lemongrass, and mint! Keep these recipes coming! Love ya, too! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      No Colleen it’s dry and has a nutty smell, I did put a little note at the bottom of my blog on how to do but for you just take a small frying pan(heavy bottomed) if you have, heat(no fat) and then add rice to cover bottom, stir until rice turns golden brown about 5 mins,put rice in pestle and grind to coarse mix will keep in a sealed pot in cupboard. It adds a nice nutty flavour ..I love it…Have a lovely day..hugs 🙂 Oh and my pingback must have worked yehhhhhh 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      It is yum and thank you..I’m glad I am better, I hate being ill..luckily doesn’t happen too often every couple of years so I can live with that 😉 Hope you are well and haven’t succumbed to any ailments 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

