Thai Lemon Grass Salad(Yum Takrai)

SAM_2834

This recipe is for all you veggies as promised. I personally love this salad it is so fresh and vibrant, you could leave out the dried shrimp if you really eat no meat or fish products, slightly different taste but still good as if I don’t have any to hand then I leave them out.

Yum Takrai (Spicy Lemon grass Salad)

15 stalks fresh lemongrass.

14 cup finely chopped ginger

2 tbsp. toasted cashews
2 tbsp. whole dried shrimp
1 12 tbsp. fish sauce
1 12 tbsp. fresh lime juice
1/2-1 12 tbsp. sugar
1 tbsp. whole dried shrimp, finely ground
4-6 red Thai chillies, stemmed and thinly sliced
2 shallots, very thinly sliced lengthwise
3 raw stemmed long beans, cut into 4″ pieces for garnish.
Method:
Trim and slice lemon grass very finely. Transfer lemongrass slices to a medium bowl, separate rings with your fingers. Add ginger, cashews, shrimp, fish sauce, lime juice, sugar, ground shrimp, Thai chiles, and shallots, and toss well. Garnish with long beans. Serve on Banana Leaf or Betel Leaf as in my picture.
Serve with steamed jasmine rice.SAM_2834
We also serve with a tamarind sauce made by combing 3 tbsp tamarind pulp with cup water in small pan, bring to boil and simmer 5 mins.
Remove from heat and stand 15 mins you can help break tamarind down with a spoon, strain through sieve extracting as much liquid as possible.
Add 2cm peeled finely chopped ginger and 2 cloves finely chopped garlic, 11/2 tbsp palm sugar,2 tsp fish sauce,1 tbsp chilli/garlic sauce and 1 tsp soy sauce to tamarind liquid. Bring to boil, simmer 5 mins.
Whisk 1 tbsp cornflour with little water whisk into sauce cook 1 min or until thickens.
Taste and adjust seasoning add more sugar if required.
Keeps in an airtight container in the fridge for up to one week.
I hope you enjoy this little salad, if you love Thai food then please have a look around my blog for more authentic Thai Recipes.
Love you all xxx

17 thoughts on “Thai Lemon Grass Salad(Yum Takrai)

  1. Pingback: 26 Week Photo Challenge “L” | Retired? No one told me!

  2. Silver Threading

    I love this recipe! I plan on growing lemongrass this summer if I can find it. I might have to special order the plants. Awww, thanks for thinking of me. I am just stuck. The problem is me eating too much. Portions matter so much. I do better when I listen to my stomach not my brain! LOL! Have a great week! Love ya, too! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      I think we all would..ha ha…it’s the way we are wired….haha…good luck with the lemongrass growing..it just keeps growing here more than I can use. It’s coriander I just can’t grow just really thin and leggy but so cheap to buy I don’t worry about it…. everything else flourishes…like me they love the tropical climate. You have a great week….. big hugs ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

