Salmon Kulebyaka or Coulibiac (Кулебяка)

Another authentic recipe I have chanced upon..looks yummy…

PetersFoodAdventures

Salmon Kulebyaka Coulibiac (Кулебяка)Salmon Kulebyaka Coulibiac (Кулебяка)

Salmon Kulebyaka Coulibiac (Кулебяка)Salmon Kulebyaka Coulibiac (Кулебяка)

Salmon Kulebyaka, or more commonly known as Coulibiac in the English world, is the original Russian fish pie. It was so popular in pre-revolutionary Russia, that it was exported into France, made famous by Auguste Escoffier, in his cook book The Complete Guide to the Art of Modern Cookery, where it appeared as Coulibiac de Saumon. Traditionally made with a yeast dough, stuffed with layers of rice, onions, dill and salmon. I’ve seen fancier versions stuffed with all sorts of things, from hard boiled eggs, mushrooms and even wrapped in blini before wrapping it in dough, but I prefer the rustic original. People now commonly make it with puff pastry, probably because it’s easier to buy, but I’m pretty passionate about preserving the original rustic style, maybe it’s from the memories of eating my babushka’s Kulebyaka. She was famous for her version of a deep dish fish pie. About 10…

View original post 393 more words

16 thoughts on “Salmon Kulebyaka or Coulibiac (Кулебяка)

  1. inavukic

    Hey Carol, just want to tell you I made the kulebyaka today 7 May as I said had a special luncheon on – oh, it’s such a great taste when eaten warm – the dough/crust is so tasty with the salmon. rice, onion, dill juices through it…a big job but so worth it as an piece on the plate with other seafood delicacies 🙂 eating it – the “bread” soaked in juices – reminded me of a traditional Easter & Christmas way of doing the smoked ham in Continental part of Croatia outside the capital – similar dough is wrapped around the whole ham and placed in wood-fire oven like pizza oven – HEAVEN on tastebuds 🙂 Hugs & cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Hey Ina , thank you so much for letting me know I am so pleased it turned well and you enjoyed it…I am moving house Tuesday so once I have settled in I will be making it myself. Big hugs 🙂 It also sounds fabulous wrapping the dough around a whole ham…mmmmm 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. blondieaka Post author

        Well if you try it before me let me know how you get on and I’ll do likewise. If I make it however I am moving soon so it probably won’t be for a few weeks might be a nice ice breaker for my new neigbours 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. inavukic

        Could be could be a good ice breaker 🙂 OK will let you know if I do it in next fer weeks but I think I will do it for 7 May when I have a luncheon on for friends n family for Mother’s Day here Down Under …. Will see I think it’s a perfect occasion for such testing because there are always other dishes in case that one doesn’t hit everyone’s taste spots 😀

        Like

      3. blondieaka Post author

        That sounds like a plan, there is no reason it shouldn’t turn out the recipe looks easy to follow and pretty straighforward but yes not everyone likes fish or pastry do they ?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lynne hoareau

    Hi Carol, just wanted to say hi, and thank you for stopping by at my blog, Lynne’s Recipe Trails. I look forward to reading more of your blog. Take care and enjoy the rest of your day. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Hi Lynne,lovely to meet you. I enjoy looking around blogs and finding authentic recipes and also ones which are made from scratch and don’t use nasties.It sounds like you are very much like me having learnt from your mum. The cornish pasties sound good and one I will try …I make pies anyway but haven’t made hot water pastry so will give it a go. I very much look forward to trying some more of your recipes and hope you enjoy mine which are a mix of cuisines, as living where Ido there are many different natiionalities and I love collecting and trying any recipe which is different. It’s fun. Enjoy your day, mine is just starting the sun is just coming up 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

