Blogmas 2016 Dec 7th. Gluten Free Christmas Pudding …

My oh my is the time not flying now???

Tree is up and looking for lights for outside trees…so another adventure but I didn’t fall over this time..yehhh!

Off tomoz for final shop to see if I can get horseradish sauce…picked up a few  more pressies…just need some wrapping paper that isn’t 2 x 2 inches…I am not kidding it is so small so need to find a shop that gift wraps and let them have the headache. I have never seen such tiny rolls of paper.

As I can’t get turkey, I am having to re-think my menu…

Got to have Yorkshire puddings with beef. The cranberry sauce I made last week ….well we will now be eating cranberry with Pork, Ham with chicken you name it we have some and more…See being organised when you haven’t got the main component doesn’t always work…Does  it????

But you know what????? The men in this house are still insistent on having stuffing   ….. yes stuffing with Roast Beef?????

Oh well who am I to argue?

Anyway I have been thinking as I made my Christmas pudding ( albeit ) a tad late but it will be fine…. What about my friends who have to eat Gluten Free ……… So here is a Gluten FREE Christmas Pudding Recipe just for you. Enjoy!

Christmas Pudding

INGREDIENTS:

100gm currants.

100gm sultanas.

100gm sour cherries.

Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon

Grated zest and juice of half an Orange.

1tsp of mixed spice and cinnamon.

1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg.

100ml of brandy..this is where my hand slipped…ha ha

180gm dark brown sugar

1 granny smith Apple( I can’t these) so used a new Zealand apple which is quite tart.

1 large carrot, grated.

250gm ground almonds.

50gm gluten fee cornflour.

1tsp gluten free baking powder.

2 med free range eggs.

50ml vegetable oil( I use coconut oil)

plus extra for for greasing.

2 tbsp black treacle.

This makes enough for a 2 pint pudding basin or two 1 pints.

To make:

In a large bowl put dried fruit,zest and juice,spice and brandy, stir to combine, cover and leave for 24hrs.

Then mix in sugar , apple and carrot, add beaten eggs then stir in oil and treacle.

Lastly  stir in dry ingredients with a pinch of salt.

Put mixture into a greased pudding basin it should be two thirds full. Cover the top with a round of greaseproof paper the cover with pleated tin foil and secure with string.

You can now either sit the pudding in a saucepan on an upturned plate and fill pan with boiling water about half way up the basin. Put lid on and steam for 4 hours remembering to top up water. as necessary

I always use a steamer and in this case it was my wicker rice steamer which bowl sits in nicely over the pot of water.

If you have made a lot od puddings over the years like me  I think you find your own preferred method of steaming your puds.

Once steamed, cool and store in a dry place.

To serve simmer or steam the pudding for 2 hrs , then invert on a plate and flame the pud or serve with sauce or brandy butter.

It’s cream all the way for me …and lots of it!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Blogmas 2016 Dec 7th. Gluten Free Christmas Pudding …

Leave a Reply

