What do you call it????

I write a lot of cookery posts and come across different terminology at times…Some I have come across already as they are sometimes a source of amusement between myself and my American cousins.But I am aware that a lot of my readers do come from the US and probably wonder what I am talking about sometimes or indeed like me visit my friend Mr. Google to find out.Hence this little list.. well…19 of what I think are the most used and often misunderstood. Most are culinary with just 2 ( which have no relation to food) one of which makes me smile as I can visualize the look on my American families faces which are saying…What!

US                                                                UK

Confectioners Sugar.                               Icing Sugar.

Cookies, Crackers.                                    Biscuits.

Graham Crackers.                                     Digestive Biscuits.

Granola.                                                     Muesli.

Ground.                                                      Minced.

Molasses.                                                   Dark Treacle.

Plastic Wrap.                                             Cling Film.

Gyro.                                                           Doner Kebab.

Skillet.                                                        Frying Pan.

Broiler.                                                       Grill.

Jelly.                                                            Jam.

Snow Peas.                                                 Mangetout.

Pot Pie.                                                        Pie.

Biscuit.                                                         Scone.

                                                      Scone.

Shrimp.                                                        Prawn.

White Sauce.                                                Gravy.

Green Onions.                                              Spring Onions.

Now my two which are totally unrelated to Food.

Speed Bump.                                                Sleeping Policeman.

                                                   Sleeping Policeman.

Mac                                                                              Raincoat.

                                                   Raincoat.

Yes, I know in the US it always refers to an Apple Computer.

Images: https://pixabay.com/

 

8 thoughts on “What do you call it????

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Yes it Teagan but it’s taken me a long time and lots of wondering until I found out Graham Crackers were Digestives to me…I was thinking American cheescake bases must be pretty bland if they using crackers,…but now I know…Mega Hugs x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Yvonne

    And, often, folks from each country think their term is the only correct one.

    Not a culinary term, what do you see in your mind’s eye when I say “thong”?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

