Buttermilk Bread

buttermilk-breadAfter receiving a gift of homemade buttermilk from a friend I thought I would try my hand at making some buttermilk bread. I was very pleased with the outcome it was lovely with some homemade Jam( jelly)…See  I am learning the difference for the same…lol…..

Let’s Bake!

INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups of lukewarm water.

1 cup of Buttermilk.

1 tbsp quick yeast.

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

6 1/2 cups of bread flour.

Melted butter to brush the top of the loaf.

Let’s Cook!

Mix water, buttermilk, yeast, salt, sugar in a bowl. Add the flour. No need to knead..lol

Just combine all the ingredients  together..lightly cover bowl and leave to rest/rise for 2 hrs.

The bonus of living here is dough rises quickly...I love using yeast now.

You can use the dough immediately, store covered in the fridge for up to 5 days or in the freezer for up to 3 weeks.

If you are using now preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Dust the dough with flour and very lightly knead, shape into a round. Cover and rest for 90 minutes.

Oh, and I made a cut into the top of my dough just like a cross.

Bake in the middle of the oven for approx 40 minutes until golden brown and delicious.

Remove from the oven and brush the top with melted butter.

I was pretty pleased with my first attempt at buttermilk bread.

Leave to cool before slicing.

Enjoy!

There will be no stopping me now…I love the fact that yeast rises so quickly here..whereas before it used to frustrate and never prove very well 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Buttermilk Bread

Leave a Reply

