Natural Foods instead of medicines?

This post sets the scene for some of my future posts where I will be telling you about natural foods which may help treat pain and inflammation, natural foods which can lower cholesterol, reduce high blood pressure, which foods are antacid and much more.

I will give you the information, the recipes so you can make your own informed decisions..which is how it should be. You should be in charge of your life and what goes in your body.

lady holding veggies

It means cooking and preparing more but it also means that you will know without a doubt what you are eating. I cook normal food, not faddy, not with expensive ingredients just day-to-day normal food. If I can make it I do, but on occasions, if I either can’t get the ingredients or don’t want to I may buy a packet mix but it is the exception for me rather than the rule. I cook recipes from around the world because that’s what we like but we also like a tasty stew and vegetables.

Does that sound good?In this post, I will give you a little background to me, how my brain ticks, my logic…. I use common sense, I use proper food and grow it where I can.

I am not vegetarian, vegan or anything else I just try to eat healthily…

I also on occasions eat you know who’s fillet of fish…and why not???

I love some veggie recipes and we eat everything in moderation…I just love a bit of meat and fish as well. But I  care how my meat gets to my table ….I grow my own fish..I started with 3 and I now have too many to count but as of yesterday someone came and took quite a few for their pond so the ones left have more room to grow and are happy little fishes.

fish-158662_1280

My Xmas turkey will be raised by us and I know where my beef and pork comes from. I also know that I am lucky to know this.

I haven’t always been that lucky but my mantra is you do what YOU can and what YOU are happy with and gradually it all falls into place. I am not fanatical I just do what I can and if we all did that we would all be happier, healthier and so would our families.

Baby steps are good.

More and more people are now turning to natural means of curing their ailments than ever before…Why? So many reasons, are they better? Do they work? I think in some instances they do but I also think that sometimes we need to heed our physician as tried and tested medicines also work.

natural-medicine-436578_1920

 

Can we find a happy medium? I think we can. Natural remedies do work but they don’t work the same on everybody. “one-size doesn’t fit all” as the saying goes.

Generic medicines have been tested, tested and tested again and work generally across the spectrum which is in some ways better as they work for the majority. Whereas natural remedies are more trial and error.  So I can see why medicines and tablets were invented as they were more stable.

It doesn’t stop me from preferring to take the natural route where I can.

I have always been a rebel on the QT… I have always questioned my doctor…I always look what is in the packet…I  question what I read on social media …I question everything…I always just do!

woman-1446557_1920

I want to know what my family eats. I want to know what is in my food. Even before all of what goes on now ….I questioned…Years ago ..many more than I am going to tell you…ha ha…

My kids would have loved a Mr. Frosty….One mouthful and the tongue was bright blue…In my world that set off alarm bells…

Freds with blue tongue

If your tongue was blue what was it doing to your insides? They never got one!

My logic was basic… and I suppose to a point it still is…If it has really small print and the name is long and unrecognizable and the list is even longer…I don’t buy it!

Tell me in plain language what is in what I am buying….

 

If you don’t! I don’t!

 

 

If you liked this post then please consider following me and sharing or reblogging my posts. We are what we eat ….my first post on the subject. Please click the link to view  https://niume.com/post/316514   I hope you enjoy it!

Until next time stay safe and laugh a lot 🙂 AND ask!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Natural Foods instead of medicines?

  1. thesm14

    very nice posts!! i have been struggling with eating healthy buying very expensive foods( without really caring , it where about). Your post seem very realistic. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      I know Rex, and don’t you get a great feeling of satisfaction ? I know I do and I love plant swapping which is a great way to increase your stock of plants and herbs 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Doctor Jonathan

    I think people will be able to relate to this post. You share legitimate concerns without applying unrealistic approaches to addressing them. You prove the “average” person can and should be more responsible for the decisions they make regarding their lifestyle and the lifestyle of their families. This is the type of message more people need to take to heart to achieve a better chance of outcome they truly desire.

    From your lips (or computer monitor) to the world’s ears (and eyes!) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you for those kind words it means a lot. I understand that many people are daunted by science sometimes and they switch off. My aim is to take a more simplistic route which may make it more realistic and achievable to make better, informed decisions for their own health.
      I was just born with a question on my lips…lol

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. blondieaka Post author

        Unfortunately most don’t, they just think they are the clever ones and us lesser mortals should take heed. Well this lesser mortal likes to read and consider other opinions but ultimately the decision is mine.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Doctor Jonathan

        You were the type of patient I really enjoyed working with. Patients wanting to learn and get involved generally assume greater responsibilities and achieve better results. Those who remain passive and rely on medical intervention for everything commonly suffer the consequences at some point.

        Like

Leave a Reply

