Fresh Fruit Salad anyone?

 

apple-17092_1920

The beauty of a fresh fruit salad is that you can make it as large or as small as you like one portion or ten. You can use any fruit that you have and it can different every time.

 

The one I always make is very simple I use Oranges, Apples, Grapes, Pear, and section and slice them and add lemon/ lime juice to stop the fruit going brown.

Sometimes I  also add some freshly squeezed orange juice or other fruit juice.

This is now when it gets interesting as you can add a little freshly grated ginger, some crushed lemon grass even treat yourself to one of those exotic fruits you have seen in your local shop or farmers market just to liven it up, change it.

Maybe even a touch of chilli???

Some sesame seeds? Some poppy seeds??

And of course and how could I forget? Well, I did and it was only when my dear blogging friend Marian told me of her gift of a mint plant and that she was going to pair it with some strawberries that I remembered I had forgotten one of my favourite herbs. So thank you, Marian Beaman, from Plain and Fancygirl   

If I use a soft fruit like banana, melon,  mango, strawberries, peaches, apricots, watermelon or kiwi then I put those in about 15 mins before I serve the fruit salad. Otherwise, they can go too mushy and we like our fruit salad fresh and vibrant, nice and crisp.

And of course here I have access to plenty of fresh pineapples, Lychees and Dragon fruit are plentiful and in season here at the moment so into the mix they go…What is your favourite fruit salad mix???

You can use any combination of fruit that you like just make sure you use lemon/ lime

juice to stop the fruit from discolouring and keep in the fridge until you are ready to serve.

It can be served quite simply with fresh cream or clotted cream if you can get it… Ice cream or even custard which hubby prefers.

Serve it with your porridge oats or other cereal with natural yoghurt… the possibilities are endless… Have fun when you make one and try different fruits.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Salad anyone?

  1. Pingback: July 2017 Share and Inspire Others! – “F” | The Recipe Hunter

  2. andriaperry

    Yummy! Recently I have seen dragon fruits in one grocery store, how do you peel them? eat them? maybe I can get an article on Dragon fruits? HELP Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. marianbeaman

    Your post enticed me to eat some plump green grapes. Fresh fruit is the best way to get “good” sugar into one’s diet.

    Yesterday my son gave me a mint plant. I’ll use some leaves to garnish a lemon gelato dessert with strawberries next week. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

