One year on! My way forward

road-1894938_1920

And what a year it has been!

Living in the north of Thailand is completely different to Phuket but I have also discovered much more about Thailand and its culture, traditions and discovered so many different fruits and vegetables.

So in some ways because of the move, it has taken me a while but I have decided now on my way forward.

The last post I wrote had a very good response with reblogs, shares and views/reads on a few of the different social media’s.

People are obviously interested in health both bodily and mentally and looking at food to help them achieve that and food which can work alongside any medications that is prescribed for you.

Like this one: Foods which may help lower your cholesterol

As those of you who know me know that none of my recipes are just a recipe but also contain other titbits of information.

I know I can waffle with best of them…lol

My recipes will now contain at least one and possibly more ingredients which will help you reach that goal of eating more healthily and also start to learn that it is important what we put in our mouths for our children’s health and our health.

We read a lot about buying organic foods and yes it is sometimes way out of some of our budgets but even if you only have a window box I hope I can help you learn what it is best to buy organically and what you can buy through your normal shopping channels knowing it is safe and also what you can grow.

 

A lot of the articles I read bombard me with information and sometimes I just switch off because I am either too busy or I just haven’t got a clue or just because I don’t like the sound of the foods which it is suggested are good for me. Who wants to eat boring unappetising food?

So my aim is to keep it simple and not bore you with jargon.

I want to give you recipes for the whole family that encourage those who are faddy eaters to try things. Give you alternatives for some ingredients that may be cheaper or more palatable to some and indeed a lot of the recipes I have come across I don’t really want to eat ….I may change my mind when I try them or make a few changes and that is also what food is about adapting it and of trying new ways of cooking and it makes food fun and enjoyable and that is what food should be about.

Whether you only have the weekends to cook or when you are on holiday but learning how to adapt your cooking to your lifestyle take one step at a time because it is no use running yourself ragged as that is not good for your health either.

For example, a lot of the food I cook is just for me. So I buy my meat or fish and cut it into portions and freeze it. If I cook a chilli I freeze individual portions it is all about planning.

No one has to spend hours in the kitchen if you plan and prepare. Put the slow cooker on before you go to work and when you come home a beautiful meal is ready to eat.

Put porridge in your slow cooker overnight and it will be ready and waiting for when you come down in a rush with no time to cook and just enough time to eat.

I plan to write some cookery e-books with my favourite recipes in for you.

So in a nutshell, I want to give you the information so that you can make your own decisions on how to feed your family for optimum health. Feed your family normal food. Food which encourages faddy/picky eaters because then you stick to it because you love what you are eating.

Feed your family normal food. Food which encourages faddy/picky eaters because then you stick to it because you love what you are eating.

I plan to self-host my blog very soon and I will be adding affiliate  links for products that I use and love not just a fancy product which costs an arm and a leg and doesn’t do what it says or is so difficult to clean that it puts you off using it or you just plain don’t have the cupboard space to store it.

The final part of my plan is that when I have this in place I will have the time to finish my novel which is a long time coming…lol

Oh, and I haven’t started on the chooks and farming but that is also on track.  We are the proud parents of some baby turkeys …..Why Turkeys? Because I haven’t been able to buy one for Christmas dinner for the last two years and so I thought I would grow my own…They are adorable, so friendly and make lovely soft, happy noises…They seem to love their new home although they are having to stay in the smaller bit for another few days..just so they get used to their surroundings and where their food is…

 

But I am focused and ready to move forward.

Thank for reading this post I do hope you enjoyed it.and our new adventures in Northern Thailand…If you did ..please share it or reblog it….

And lastly, if I can do it so can you…cos I am not a spring chicken anymore but having so much fun and feel I have a new lease of life….

Please feel free to give me any advice, suggestions anything at all. That is what comments are for.

Any photos I use are by myself( Carol) or are from Pixabay and free to use.

20 thoughts on “One year on! My way forward

  1. Léa

    Oh the produce in the part of the world is supreme. While my time in Thailand was all too brief, I did have a month in Vietnam and the markets were so amazing especially the large ones in Saigon… The fruits and vegetables, you just can’t imagine until you try it all. To walk out a door and pick a fresh mango or coconut and there is nothing like eating a fresh coconut. Shall we mention the fresh juice from the sugar cane? Oh my! If I hadn’t come to France to live, Vietnam was my second choice… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      It is the same here I have fresh coconut juice every day and my little grandaughter loves the sugar cane juice everything is so fresh just like in Vietnam 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Colin Noel-Johnson

    Eating healthy is important, but enjoying the food is just as important. While I laud your goal of publishing healthy recipes, sometimes it’s okay to treat yourself to something a bit unhealthy.
    This is just my opinion though and I’m sure some people will disagree with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      I totally agree and have stated that in some of my posts Colin…Food should be enjoyable as well as healthy and the occasional treat which you enjoy is fine in my book. Of course, some will disagree but that is life isn’t it? Have a lovely weekend 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Hey..How are you? I have been meaning to e-mail or FT/Line you. As for what happens my cousin always has a cow for eating when we were last there it was called cheeseburger. He always keeps the name impersonal and advised me to do that….We will have to arrange a time to chat..Let me know Hugs xxx

      Like

      Reply
  3. Rex Trulove

    I’m much the same way with my recipes. Most are easy, healthy, inexpensive, or all three. In many cases, they are things that I’ve recently prepared or plan to prepare very soon. An example is the blueberry zucchini bread I made yesterday and wrote about before it was even out of the oven. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

