Down on the Farm introducing our new Turkey babies.

At long last …through rain and shine our turkey house is finished and the turkeys are happy in their new home.

Jamie picked them up this morning and they have made themselves at home and are making some happy Turkey noises. They have to stay in the undercover house for a week so that they know where their food is when they are let out into the main run.

Baby turkeys are called poults or chicks. A young female turkey is called a Jenny and a young male a Jake.

Once they are well settled they can have the run of the farm.

Fruit wise we have a couple of new fruits appearing and one which was foraged from the nearby jungle. Funnily aptly named Jungle fruit…ha ha. They ate them and didn’t take a photo for me so that will be for another time…lol

Thai Olives or Ka Na

Thai Olives

 

This Asian evergreen tropical tree produces fruit from delicate, white, lacy flowers and they are unlike any of the olives I know and love but nice in their own way. Known as the Ceylon Olive in English it is high in starch and sugar. It may also help treat diarrhoea due to its constipating properties.

My little granddaughter loves them peeled and sliced and then dipped into a Thai stock with fish sauce and away she goes she loves it, that salty, sour taste. It is also a popular street food found on local markets and roadside stalls.

More research is now being conducted on the manufacture of anti-bacterial and anti-depressant medicines using Veralu which is obtained from the olives as a key ingredient.
The bark of this olive tree is used to treat haemorrhages and gastric disorders.

The other one is Governors plum or as it is known here, Mak Keng.needs name

This bushy plant or tree is native to tropical and temperate parts of Asia as well as being found over much of Africa and India.

With a spiny, spiky trunk and branches in shrub form it can grow up to 25ft, as a tree it can reach 50ft. The drooping branches bear oval leaves with a fruit called a pome which is about an inch thick and reddens to a purple colour. The flesh is yellow or white with an acidic tang and reminiscent of a plum. It can be eaten raw by squeezing the flesh out( the skin is quite tough), made into jam or jelly and it can also be fermented to make wine…Now that’s a thought…lol

Its seeds of which there can be up to 10 in a fruit are dispersed by the birds hence why in some areas of Africa or India it is classed as invasive.

As you know I always like to find out as much as I can about any fruits and vegetables that I discover here as many are used by locals and have been for centuries as traditional herbal medicines and some are quite effective.

Just like the one which was used as a poultice when I got stung by a jellyfish..I wish I had asked the name.

In herbal medicine, the leaves and roots are used as a treatment for snakebites.

The bark is believed to be effective against arthritis, indeed most parts of the plant are used locally to treat coughs and bacterial throat infections and also as a treatment for Diarrhea.

On our land, it has been planted as a living fence and indeed as boundaries on many of the homes around here. The wood is used as firewood or for small wooden tools such as plough handles.

Historical Fact!

The inland customs line also called the Great Hedge of India or Indian Salt hedge was built by the British initially to collect salt taxes. This was at the time India was under the control of The East India Company but then continued into the period of British colonial rule. Firstly it was made of the dead thorny material of the Indian Plum but it eventually turned into a living hedge some 12 ft high and compared by some to the Great Wall of China. How interesting is that?

I hope you enjoyed being Down on the farm with me…Until next time thank you for reading and if you liked reading about life in rural Thailand please share or reblog it would be much appreciated.

Have a great weekend, stay safe, have fun and laugh a lot.

If you have missed any of my previous posts then the links are below if you would like to read more about life Down on the farm in rural Thailand.

Down on the farm making charcoal.

Down on the farm Thai Potatoes

Down on the farm Jambulan plum

Down on the farm Snake gourds

All these photos are my own and taken by me ( Carol) If you would like to use any of them please ask….I don’t bite…lol

 

33 thoughts on “Down on the Farm introducing our new Turkey babies.

  1. Pingback: Down on the Farm…Sesame Plant(Ngaa) – The Militant Negro™

  2. Pingback: Down on the Farm…Sesame Plant(Ngaa) | Retired? No one told me!

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Yes…I get your point but needs must and my cousin always has 1 cow a year for food and they are always never given pet names but food names..The last one was Cheese burger….But yes if I was feeding them all the time..not sure if I could but …..It is a contentious subject isn’t it? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. globalhousesitterX2

        It was nearly 9 years ago!! It was certainly a contentious one between my husband and myself 🙂 We decided not to have any more steers though did get meat for the freezer in exchange for another farmer to use a bit of our land for grazing. Win/win situation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you Andria..slowly but surely it is taking shape. As you know we are all weather dependent…but going well.. I love seeing what new plants and fruit appear as the months pass by…Many whichI have seen or tasted as they are not grown commercially and also learning what the jungle gives up…Thank you so mch for the reblog x I hope you and Tony are well 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: An egg, zero carbs and no sugar! | Retired? No one told me!

    1. blondieaka Post author

      They are quite big and are used as a fruit to dip locally …I haven’t seen anyone here brining and making olives as I know them but I believe they do in some areas. I am trying to find some so I can do a taste comparison. When I do I will let everyone know 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Yes it is ..but so different you can’t really compare can you? I am sure Las Vegas has its advantages…I have family in Kentucky and love my holidays there 🙂 Thank you for the follow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. stephrichmond

    Wow this is a long way from Luffa’s (Which reminds me how is my favourite luffa?) So now you’ll have Christmas dinner sorted. Are they easy to keep? Have fun with them, the bread sauce is sorted 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      The luffas are going great guns up, up and away…They seem easy so far and really lovely and friendly …I have a video but until I upgrade my WP I can’t add it..they are growing so quickly and seem to like having more, much more space than they had…Hope you are well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

