Jalapeno Jelly

Jalapeno Jelly
Doesn’t that look amazing? Just look at the colour it just screams eat me! I have never heard of Jalapeno Jelly or tasted it in my life…… I can just hear some of you saying she hasn’t lived…Well, when I get to taste it…I have to get some pectin first or make my own I will let you know…Have you eaten it? Or made it? please let me know in the comments.
I have never been so excited about trying something for a while….
Angie can normally be found over on Blogspot and her blog is called Learning to Live Free..She is one amazing lady …I just read what she has canned and does open mouthed most of the time she is awesome. So don’t take my word for pop over and have a look for yourself.
Now over to Angie and her recipe for Jalapeno jelly.
Let’s Make Jalapeno Jelly!
First – I have to say jalapeno pepper are hot so precautions need to be taken. Do not touch the peppers with your hands while removing the seeds and the white flesh from inside, use gloves if possible. I used a fork and knife being care not to touch any of the pepper.
What you will need to make Jalapeno jelly:
12 ounces of medium to large jalapeno peppers – sliced in half, no seeds and no white flesh.
2 cups of apple cider vinegar
6 cups of sugar
2 pouches of Ball liquid fruit pectin

A few drip of green food color (optional)

Measure your sugar and set aside in a large bowl.
Remove the liquid pectin from the pouches into a cup, set aside.
In a food processor pulse the jalapeno peppers with 1 cup of the apple cider until blended but still has small pieces.
Measure the jalapeno mixture and add more apple cider vinegar (one cup) to make 3 cups total.
In a large pot add the jalapeno mixture and bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes.
Add sugar and bring to a rolling boil that cannot be stirred down.
Add pectin and bring to a rolling boil that cannot be stirred down and boil one minute.
Remove from heat and skim off foam if needed.
Fill prepared half pint canning jars leaving 1/2 inch head space.
Wipe rims clean and apply lids.
Process in a water bath for 10 minutes.
Makes 8 half pint jars.
NOTE : If you want smooth jelly do not process a lot and run through a cheese cloth to remove pieces. However, I find a few small pieces makes the jelly more interesting.
Serving suggestions :
On a larger serving plate put a bar of cream cheese, allow to soften at room temperature. Pour a half pint of jalapeno pepper jelly over the top and allow to run over the sides. Arrange crackers around the cream cheese and jelly.
I also think jalapeno jelly will make a wonderful glaze for pork or baked chicken.
I hope you enjoy your jalapeno jelly and look forward to more delicious jams and jellies from my homestead.
By Andria Perry
 
Photos By Andria Perry
 
Thank you, Andria, for letting me share this wonderful recipe. If you enjoyed it please pop over and leave a comment on Andria’s blog.
Until next time stay safe, have fun and laugh a lot.
10 thoughts on “Jalapeno Jelly

    1. blondieaka Post author

      You are welcome Andria it has had lots of views and comments on here….I can never see it on a reblog when I go on your site …It doesn’t like WP ones 🙂 Can’t wait to get some pectin or make it…I can’t envisage the taste as to the sugar balance not having tasted it before ..Is it slightly sweet or what?

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

