Some of Thailand’s most unusual foods.

I got to thinking…….Ha Ha….Yes, you are right every last one of you, when I do that it’s dangerous!

On a weekend boat trip to the Red Lotus Lake, I was amazed when I learnt what you can make with the Lotus flower. It was so beautiful here just miles and miles of water covered in these lovely lotus flowers. Little did I know until our friendly boatman told us that these wetlands not only had fish but flora which was edible.

077

A long time ago the petals were used basically as fag papers..just like my dad used Rizzlas I used to sit and watch him with a child’s fascination as he rolled his tobacco into cigarettes.

The flowers are also edible and make lettuce cups look positively boring. The seed pods are lovely to eat just pop those little circles out..take off the outside and eat.

and some say they taste like popcorn. I now knew what all those lovely green pods we saw being sold on the roadside were and how to eat them. The local people are allowed to harvest these for free.

Even with the stems, you can make a lovely soup. This beautiful lily is not only a beautiful decoration but also a source of food……I never cease to be amazed at what I learn here…

This got me thinking..shhhhhh that word again! Of the things I have eaten since I have been here in Thailand and the things I haven’t ..yuk!

I have eaten different types of veg and things like the banana pod and the lily flowers which can only be harvested at dawn both of which are steamed and eaten with a dip…..Now we come to the more unusual…

Insects of all sorts ..deep-fried and crispy…

SAM_7518

I quite like, well except for the ones which look like the witchety grubs they eat on I’m a Celebrity get me out of here..Not for me! Yuk!Frogs fried

Frogs..I like crispy fried they taste like chicken which brings me on to the Chicken Feet sold by the kilo in Makro and Tesco Lotus are a staple here.

Chicken feet salad.

chicken feet salad

Lizards…not tried them yet…but I love ants eggs, they make a lovely salad..it tastes lemony and it is actually very nice. So if you are in Thailand and see anyone hopping about and brushing themselves down quite frantically  under a tree…They are collecting Ants Eggs…..A dangerous game and why they are by Thai standards a delicacy and quite expensive to buy.

Ant egg salad.

ant egg salad

Ingredients:

3 tbsp Ant Eggs.

1 tbsp Fish sauce

1 tbsp Roasted rice

1/2 tsp chilli flakes.

2 Spring onion finely sliced.

Handful chopped coriander

7-10 Mint leaves

2 tsp. Grounded pepper

1/2 tbsp. Lime juice

3 shallots finely sliced.

Stir all ingredients together gently. Add the seasoning. Serve with fresh vegetables.

Enjoy!

If you get over any initial reticence to try it most people like it….really….I do.

Well, I will be honest.with you…I shut my eyes…How THAT helps I don’t know…ha ha

The fermented eggs and fish called Phla which is fermented fish which a lot of Thais add to Papaya salad and soups….. Is an acquired taste and one which in the main I give a miss but on some occasions I have eaten and can now tolerate it although I prefer my food without.

So when you think no one should ever go hungry here...There is always something to eat……. You are moreorless correct but I guess if you really think about it and be creative wherever you are there is always something to eat. I often think that when we say we have nothing to eat what we mean is nothing we fancy we probably have a store cupboard full of jars and packets. A fridge with at least the basics in and maybe a few veggies…. Am I right?

You know I am…..

I see it here all the time ..nothing to eat means nothing to eat…Truly…

Most of us don’t know the meaning of nothing to eat…..

Well, I guess you didn’t expect that little sermon at the end of this post…ha ha….Just occasionally I  get carried away with my thoughts…which those who know me are well aware of and I hope you just accept that as one of my little foibles…ha ha…I am a writer after all ….so have fun and laugh a lot as laughter is just the best medicine we can all take 🙂

If you enjoyed reading this then please share or rebog so a few more people will get to know this whimsical English lady and the weird and wonderful things she brings to you….

Until next time stay safe , have fun and laugh a lot ….

54 thoughts on “Some of Thailand’s most unusual foods.

  1. blondieaka Post author

    Just in case anyone was wondering??? How to eat chickens feet! The fun is in sucking at the bone and enjoying the juice/sauce. You bite a piece of the foot, suck, and pull off the skin. It is scrumptious if it is properly cooked and marinated, and you should eat it. Remove the small bone from your mouth and continue with the other portion of your chicken foot.

    Like

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you for reading and commenting…chickens feet I can give a miss. ..ants eggs are actually very nice just smaller( a lot) than chickens eggs but eggs none the less and nice in a salad or soup.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. cookandenjoyrecipes

        True true, I am sure one adapt to where you are. Before coming to Canada, never really ate sushi as it was different and not well known in SA, but since here, I just ♥ it, and as it turned out, we will babysit tonight and our Son said that they will provide dinner, and what would that be? Sushi – looking forward to it.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Rex Trulove

        One of the things that is a minor peeve for me is that so many people don’t realize that sushi isn’t raw fish. Sushi is rice cooked in a specific way. Raw fish (or meat) is sashimi. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy E Martin

    I don’t think that I could eat any of those insects. I scream enough of any of them come near me when they are alive!
    I could be tempted to try the edible flowers though! (Looks at me all brave and daring)!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Nothing wrong with that at all…I believe each to their own..I would never be vegetarian and yet have meat free days and don’t eat a lot of it anyway 🙂 So no bugs for you then 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Mary Smith

    What is there to eat on chicken feet? Are they cooked until they are soft? I think I could manage deep fried insects but maybe not a frog – though I’ve tried frog legs. I think it’s the sight of the whole frog which is off putting. Geoff LePard did a post on food in Cambodia the other day complete with a picture of tortoises on a market stall!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Nothing actually Mary just what you see…Thais suck the bones until they are soft and then eat them but no meat just skin…I have tried them the sauce was lovely but the feet don’t do it for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. jena c. henry

    Good for you Carol,for trying everything! I agree with you about “nothing to eat.” When we were preparing to move, I stopped grocery shopping a few weeks before the move so that we could empty the fridge and pantry- I easily prepared normal meals for 4 with what we had on hand. #blessed. Looking for to your recipes

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Carol Taylor shares some of the exotic and I have to be honest (unlikely to be eaten by Sally) foods in her adopted home in Thailand. If you like your frogs crispy then this is for you.. oh and did I mention the insects in batter? Anyway this post will serve to promote a new series starting tomorrow.. Cook from Scratch with Sally and Carol… I provide the ingredients (no frogs) and Carol will be turning them into several amazing dishes. Any insects will be purely decorative and there by choice not design! I hope you will join us for Salmon in all its glory just after midnight.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      Thank you Ronit….I hadn’t either until I lived here…lol..Not something I would buy as a snack but if offered to try I do…It would be rude not too 🙂 Have a lovely day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Rex Trulove

    Insects and earthworms are survival food…it is amazing what people will eat when they honestly get hungry enough and know that the option is starvation. As for chicken feet, Mom used to boil them whenever we butchered chickens…they make fantastic and rich chicken broth. I like fried bullfrogs and you are right, the flavor is a lot like chicken. In Lousiana (and I’ve never been there), they have a frog legs festival every year, where thousands of frog legs are served. Snake is also good to eat if it is properly prepared, but most of the lizards around here are too small to offer much to eat. People have been eating alligator in the US Southeast for a long time, too. There are few things I won’t try at least once. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. blondieaka Post author

      I had alligator many years ago when we were in Kentucky and from memory it was nice…Snake was eaten here just only last week…A cobra dared to show it’s fangs and it was very quickly dispatched and in the pot…Insects etc are found on any market here and eaten as a snack but you are correct they are also a survival food under certain circumstances…Lizards again are fairly big here and fair game although as of yet I haven’t sampled one..Right place right time…lol Thank you for your visit Rex 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. marisselee

    I had been to Thailand several times but no, those bugs did not fascinate me in any way hahaha. Frogs, I tried in Vietnam because my brother said it tastes like chicken. It was cooked in butter and for me, it has fishy taste…and yeah, I cannot overlook the fact that I was eating frog. Lol. Tweeted as I am sure someone with a taste for exotic food would like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

